Recipe: Smoothie Bowl

Smoothie Bowl- my answer to wanting something sweet but still feeling like I’m eating something instead of just drinking a smoothie in the morning. I feel more satisfied if I chew my breakfast as opposed to drinking it.

This is a recipe that is all about learning the method and then adding your own favorite flavors. I opted for a berry smoothie bowl:

Ingredients:

1 banana

1 cup fresh blueberries

1/2 cup frozen strawberries*

1/4 cup fresh strawberries

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

6oz nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1 tbsp. walnuts, raw and unsalted

Combine half a banana, 1/2 cup blueberries, 1/2 cup frozen strawberries, and almond milk in a blender and blend until smooth.

In a bowl, layer 3oz Greek yogurt and then the smoothie mixture. Top with remaining fresh blueberries and banana. Add remaining 3oz Greek yogurt, top with fresh strawberries, and garnish with walnuts.

Enjoy!

 

*I like the consistency of adding some frozen berries instead of ice to blend the smoothie. Instead of buying frozen berries, purchase fresh and freeze them ahead of time after washing and prepping.

Leave a comment